Firsts are usually awkward.

When has someone ever done anything for the first time and it not been awkward? I mean really?

First steps – you fell almost immediately.

Learning to ride a bike – have you heard of training wheels?

First kiss – why is my cheek slobbery?

First kid – I don’t have any kids, but I can guarantee they’ll be awkward

First haircut – remember the bowl cut?

First dance – okay that’s kind of cute. BUT, it’s not the first time they’ve ever danced. THAT was probably awkward.

First conversation – you probably said something stupid.

First job – only awkward because of the uniform I had to wear.

You get the idea. But, first time’s a charm, right?

Whatever. This first post is awkward. Or a charm. Those things are two completely different things… Unless you’re talking about someone’s lucky charm because those are both charms and usually awkward (a horseshoe, really? Oh and you think that rabbits foot is going to bring you luck? Right…).

So what do I write about for the first post? I mean it looks like I’ve already written quite a bit. So I’ll leave you with a quote. I’m sending this to my best friend tomorrow, so before I seal the envelope, here it is:

live with intention. walk to the edge. listen hard. practice wellness. play with abandon. laugh. choose with no regret. continue to learn. appreciate your friends. do what you love. live as if this all there is. – Mary Anne Radmacher

Leave a Reply

