oops.

This morning, I woke up feeling tired. I hate when that happens!

In my state of tiredness, I got up and ate a bowl of Puffins cereal. If you’ve never tried Puffins, you should. End of story. I mix the Original and Cinnamon, but I’d love to try the others, I just haven’t seen them in stores.

Anywho. I ate the cereal and got on bed to read some blogs like ChocolateCoveredKatie and of course, my favorite, Yes, I want cake. All the while I was thinking about the brownies sitting in the kitchen. Guys, these aren’t just any brownies. These are protein-packed healthy brownies! YUM! I then started thinking about M & Ms (my favorite candy, in case you weren’t aware) and the chocolate covered pretzels (another favorite) that I had made a few days ago. Can we say chocolate?

So, I kept pushing the craving away.

And then. You know… I gave in.

I ate some brownies, which I felt okay about since they’re pretty healthy and full of protein. Then I ate M & Ms and pretzels. No excuse or getting away with those! Ha.

But then I went to the gym and regretted it all. Today, I just wanted to lift for awhile, nothing more, and thank goodness. I was exhausted and felt crappy. I know I should eat well for health, but I’m beginning to realize I need to eat well for my workouts, too. I used to eat candy almost always before I ran, and felt fine. But that’s changing.

Despite my failure in the morning, you should try the brownies. Don’t hate until you try them, ok?

Black Bean Brownies! [Original recipe from Squirrel Bakes]

  • 1 15 oz can Black Beans, rinsed and dried
  • 2 large eggs
  • 6 T egg whites (I use the Egg Beaters kind, you can use 2 regular egg whites or 2 more eggs, if you wish!)
  • 2 T applesauce (or extra virgin olive oil or canola oil)
  • 1 t vanilla extract
  • 3/4 c sugar substitute ( I used a little less than this, but didn’t measure)
  • 3 T unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 t baking powder
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 2 T almond butter (you can use peanut butter too! I used 1 T almond butter and 1 T peanut butter chips – I’m trying to get rid of them!!)
  • optional: 2 T dark chocolate chips,

Instructions: Preheat oven to 350 and spray an 8×8 pan with cooking spray, or line with parchment paper. Once you have rinsed and drained the beans, blend them up in a food processor. Add the rest of the ingredients and blend well. Poor into the pan and sprinkle the top with any of the optional ingredients. Bake for 25-30 minutes. Let cool.

I prefer eating these once they’ve been in the refrigerator for a little while, but they’re good room temp., too! I do recommend not eating them right out of the oven. They are a softer brownie and especially soft right out of the oven!

Enjoy!

 

One thought on “oops.

  1. Pingback: chocolate. | makinghealthahabit

Leave a Reply

