no power, no class!

We just lost power, in the midst of a beautiful storm.

Which reminds me of when I was in Africa.

I spent about 2 months in Zambia, Africa with 13 other students from my college. It rained A LOT while we were there. Losing power in Choma, Zambia is not an unusual thing. One morning, I woke up to the chant, “No power, no class!” from a fellow student in the house. There were three bedrooms for the 14 of us, 8 females, 6 males and my bedroom of 4 girls, next to the boy’s room was awaken by that high-pitched annoying chant from another. We had no power in the house, so he offered his suggestion that we also not have class that morning. Agreed, but shut. up. please.

Living in a 3 bedroom house with 2 bathrooms, 7 other girls, 6 guys, often without power, in the middle of Africa was an experience a blast. I will always cherish the time I spent there.

Here are some pics from the adventure:

bored in the house

local friends

one of many trips in the bus. new friends for life. common bonds bring you closer. Africa makes you stronger.

Simon Says with the local kiddos

rain coats and favorite people = fun bus trips

Phew. I miss that place. I miss those people. I miss the friends we made, both from Africa and America. Such. Great. Memories.

Anywho!

A workout tip for ya, it’s coming!

As you might know, i hurt my ankle and just cannot run. Boo. Waaahhhh.

So today I did some punchin’. It was nice awesome!

If you find that your unable to exercise using your legs/feet/ankles for some reason, punch! punch! punch! I used 3 lb weights in each hand to make it a bit tougher. I also did a lot of pilates for my legs on the mat, and some bicycles for my abs and legs.

Let me tell ya, I was sweating just as much as when I run!

I read somewhere today ( I should have saved it to send you the link) in a forum, that an injury is never an excuse not to workout (unless instructed by a doctor) but just a reason to try something new/work a new muscle! 

No excuses!

Leave a Reply

