diet dr. pepper

My all-time favorite soda is Dr. Pepper.

23 flavors. Whoa. You know how I like variety! mmm, yum.

Unfortunately, I’m not a huge fan of drinking my calories. Every now and then I’d drink a real-deal DP, but I eventually assimilated myself to the diet, delicious version.

Now, I only really prefer the diet version…

And then December 2010 came around and I began to think about New Year’s resolutions. And I had battled with some illness. And they claim (among many other things) that diet soda can lead to cancer…

Well, my on Dec 31, 2010 I had my last soda.

Boo hoo. Boo who. [how do you think that’s supposed to be spelled?]

It is not July 1, so that makes 6 months soda-free. I’d love to say it’s been easy. And well, it is now. BUT! Sometimes I still crave that delish diet DP. At random times… Like walking down the street. Or… laying in bed. Random times. No big deal.

But, since I took the day off work today, I was able to catch one of my favorite shows – Live! With Regis & Kelly, and they talked about this article from the NY Post.

In a study done by the University of Texas Health Science Center, San Antonio, found that those who drink diet soda experience a 70% growth in waist circumfrance over a decade compared to those who don’t drink it. Yikes.

No thanks!

There’s more out there. I mean a lot. Lots of competing views and various findings. Conflicting findings, but interesting to read, nonetheless.

The NY Times did a story on how artificial sweeteners are linked to higher rates of lymphomas, leukemia, and other cancers.

You know, look it up, figure it out for yourself.

I still drink Crystal Light (Crystal Light Fizz review coming soon! They’re sending me samples!) and chew sugar-free gum.

I often bake with Splenda

Pick your battles, people!

Here’s a winning battle for ya:

No Sugar Added Raspberry Sauce (Kara’s original recipe)

  • Cup orange juice, not from concentrate
  • 1 1/2 C raspberries
  • splash vanilla extract
  • dash salt
Bring OJ and berries to a boil in saucepan. Add vanilla and salt and boil for about 15 more minutes, stirring regularly. Pour into separate container to cool.
Enjoy over ice cream, with yogurt, in your oatmeal, on pancakes, straight-up with a spoon, on some cake, with a brownie, over pieces of fruit, as a dip for animal crackers… You get the idea. It’s delish!
Leave a Reply

