banana bread, nuff said.

Another wonderful Sunday. Are there ever any bad Sundays?

After a fun night of corn hole and ladder ball (I think that’s what they called it), a.k.a. “hillbilly horseshoes,” I woke up to some failed french toast (I burnt it) and a bowl of cereal before church.

Church was phenomenal. Ran into a friend there, so we met up a bit later to lay by the pool.

It was just a bit hot. We didn’t last long.

I went to the gym and attempted the elliptical. Bad idea. That also didn’t last long. My broken bone wasn’t havin’ it… Funny, I can’t understand why.

Oh yea. Between church and the pool I ran to the store and bout 9 bananas for $1. Sure, they were a bit ripe… But without them, I couldn’t have made this

Of course I made some with chocolate chips, too. I can’t, however, try it yet because I gave up chocolate.

That’s some dang good banana oat bread. I’ll share the recipe with you.

Banana Oat Bread [adapted from Joy the Baker.]

  • 3-4 ripe bananas
  • 1 whole egg
  • 3 t applesauce
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1/4 t baking powder
  • 1/2 t cinnamon
  • 1 c oats
  • 1/8 c flax meal
  • 3/4 c all purpose flour
  • 3/4 c wheat flour
  • 1/4 c brown sugar
  • 1/4 c Splenda brown sugar
  • 2 egg whites
  • *I also added ~1/2 scoop protein powder! Always love extra protein!
Do this: Preheat oven to 350 and grease and flour 2 loaf pans. Mash or puree the bananas. Add whole egg and applesauce.
In a separate bowl, mix all the dry ingredients. Combine wet and dry, mixing well.
In a small bowl, beat egg whites until medium peak forms, and slowly fold these into the rest of the batter.
Pour into pans and bake for about 45 min.
Yum!
One thought on “banana bread, nuff said.

  1. Pingback: this post is bananas! « makinghealthahabit

Leave a Reply

