friends and food.

The title says it all.

I love my friends and food. When you put the two together, I am one happy girl!

Last night after an insanely busy day and a bit of a rough week, I hung out with some great friends. I brought veggie kabobs, mint chip brownies, and s’mores bars. Y-U-M!

obviously, that is NOT my steak!

Look at those veggie buddies. MMM! I probably ended up eating a total of 4 or 5 kabobs (I wasn’t eating meat, so it was okay, right?), most of which were just the veggies as I was putting the kabobs together… Luckily for me there were veggies left over (hello dinner!).

I was there for about 6 or 7 hours and laughed so much. We played games such as “truth or dare” and “never have I ever.” No, we are not in high school, yes some of them are older than 30… We talked about life, God and religion. We laughed about Caprese Salads and cherry juice running out of my mouth. They drank beers they loved and laughed at the two who hadn’t had a drink (myself and the other girl) who couldn’t walk into the house without tripping. We tried “planking” and ate lots of brownies and bars.

What a night!

Since I’m dog and house sitting for a friend, I was up at 6:30a with a sick dog. I made myself pancakes, cleaned up dog sick and watched last night’s Cincinnati Red’s game.

I just returned from a sweaty workout and finally saw a great opportunity to make myself this:

Mocha Protein Shake

What a delicious pick-me-up! I got the recipe from the wonderful Katie from Dashing Dish. I would like to try every single one of her recipes, and hope I do eventually! They are all foods I love – just healthier! Yum!

Mocha Protein Shake [Recipe originally from Katie, I made a slight smaller version b/c I wasn’t incredibly hungry.]

  • 3/4 scoop chocolate protein powder (I used the chocolate kind of this from GNC, it’s not online so I’m not sure whether or not they still sell it)
  • 1/3 C reduced or low-fat cottage cheese
  • 1 pack Splenda
  • 1/2 Starbucks VIA instant coffee
  • Cap-full sugar free caramel syrup
  • 1/4 C water (add to your preferred consistency)
  • 5 ice cubes
Blend until smooth and enjoy!
Oh… and I know it’s chocolate. If you’re keeping me accountable, I ate chocolate yesterday. I went 5 days. I felt the point had been well taken… 🙂
4 thoughts on “friends and food.

  1. Kara! Loving the new look for your blog! And yes everybody, that was my delicious piece of meat on the grill… 🙂 Keep up the posts.

  2. I am famous I get a blog mention! haha That was sooo much fun anyone else thinking same thing next weekend? Ok great!

Leave a Reply

