veggie nuggets and a real run

Today was the longest day spent inside during the most beautiful weather.

Does that sentence even make sense?

Last night, last minute, my old friend “Double Scoop” and I went to the Reds game, sitting front row behind my boy, Drew Stubbs. The weather was perfect, the company was perfect, and the game was perfect.

I was tired this morning.

I worked 8 hours and then headed to class for three hours. Development through the lifespan. I don’t even know how to say the name of the girl who I sit next to, but she’s funny. Her mom’s waiting for her to get married, too. We are young and single and livin’ it up, okay mom(s)?

Then I changed at school and went to go run the stairs at the arena again (I did that Tuesday and phew, it was sweaty and awesome). I forgot to pack socks. Gross.

So, I came home instead. And I went out and ran 5 miles. On foot. Outside. Not on a treadmill. Definately not on an elliptical. Real running, my friends. Praise the Lord!

I’m back! It was my favorite little route and it was perfect.

I needed to eat dinner and it was almost 8pm, but I wanted to make these veggie nuggets anyway.

Veggie Nuggets [my creation]

  • 16 oz bag frozen veggies of your choice
  • 1 C Fiber One cereal
  • 1/2 C oats
  • 1/4 C bread crumbs
  • 1 egg
  • 1-2 T olive oil
Do this: Preheat oven to 425. Spray a baking sheet and wire rack with cooking spray! Cook the veggies as the directions state on the bag. Drain and rinse the veggies in COLD water (I add ice to mine until it melts). Dry the veggies in a towel (they need to be dry or they won’t stick well). In the meantime, in a food processor, crush the cereal, oats and bread crumbs; or use a meat tenderizer (or both, like me). Chop the veggies in the food processor (I don’t make mine very fine, I like bigger chunks). Mix all ingredients together, scoop and shape. Cook 15 minutes, flip and cook 10-15 minutes.

The only way I eat them - with BBQ sauce.

Yummy! Enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

