this post is bananas!

I have been on a banana KICK! lately.

Tonight, I made some sweet potato fries and breaded eggplant for dinner. And then some banana bread and banana oat cookies.

eggplant

banana bread

Phew.

And I’m doing dishes and laundry.

Oh, and I just took my last final for the quarter. 1 full year of grad school – D-O-N-E!

Now, I’m sitting watching the Reds play some ball.

I went to a Reds game last week and my friend asked me why Drew Stubbs was my favorite player. I told him to just look at him. You can also take a look:

Photo from Bleacherreport.com

Anywho. On to more important things. Like baking. And bananas.

I used my own Banana Bread recipe, but once I put the batter into pans, I realized I forgot all the sugar. [And, by the way, I left in the middle of my making the bread to go to the store just to get the sugar!!!] I made it anyway, and I think it turned out just fine. Phew. Safe.

But these Banana Oat Cookies are something else. You should probably try to make them. I also messed up and used 1 full cup of mashed banana… I don’t know what was wrong with me. But once I realized I did that, I had to add more flour and oats, but I have no idea how much more I added. Oh brother.

School’s out and I’m losing my mind.

Banana Oat Cookies [original recipe from Kate @ Cookie+Kate]

  • 1 C wheat flour
  • 1/2 C flaxmeal
  • 1 t baking powder
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/2 t cinnamon
  • 2 T Applesauce
  • 1/4 C Splenda baking blend
  • 1/4 C Splenda brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 C mashed banana (or in my case, 1 C + extra flour and oats)
  • 1/2 t vanilla extract
  • 2 cups oats
  • 1 C chocolate chips
Do this: Preheat oven to 325. Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon in small bowl. Set aside. Cream together sugar and butter. Add egg, mashed banana and vanilla. Add dry ingredients and stir well. Mix in oats and chocolate chips. Bake for about 10-12 minutes, removing from baking sheet onto wire rack immediately.
I’m tired.

But before I go… I turn 25 a month from Saturday. I’d like to do/try 25 new things before then.
Any suggestions, friends?
3 thoughts on “this post is bananas!

  1. Pingback: journey. « makinghealthahabit

Leave a Reply

