homemade twix bites.

Fantastic news, ladies and gents – I ran 11.55 miles yesterday! I’m baaaack!

I set out to do about 5 miles and took off on a different route, so ended up doing 11.55. Exploration nation. Whatever that means.

All I know is that I ran way more than planned, and was going so slow at the end. I felt a little embarrassed by my speed and the cars passing me with people inside probably wondering what my problem was. But then I reminded myself, “Well, at least I’m going faster than them (I mean, besides the fact that they were in cars… but you get what I’m saying…).” And also reminding myself that I wouldn’t regret going the extra mile.

And I didn’t. I did, however, sleep until almost 9a this morning. For me that’s like sleeping until noon for a normal person. I’m an early bird who also enjoys staying up late. It causes problems.

My mom’s passing out the treats I made today. I hear her in the other room offering them to her guests. That’s okay with me. Want to know what they are?

I like to think of them as mini Twix bars; Twix bites, if you will. I was running on the treadmill at the gym the other day and was watching 5 Ingrideint Fix (with the lovely and talented Claire Robinson) and watched her make “Millionaire’s Shortbread.” I knew I had to try it, and try it I did! These little buddies would make some perfect holiday baking gifts.

You only need 5 ingredients (plus salt, which Claire doesn’t count…): AP flour, sugar, butter, sweetened condensed milk, milk chocolate.

Twix Bites [Original recipe from Claire Robinson of Food Network’s 5 Ingredient Fix]

SHORTBREAD:

  • 2 C all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 2/3 C sugar
  • 2 sticks cold butter
  • 1/4 t salt
CARAMEL
  • 2 T butter
  • 2 (14 ounce) cans sweetened condensed milk
CHOCOLATE
  • 3/4 bag of milk-chocolate chips (I also added some semi-sweet chips)

Flour, sugar, butter, chocolate, sweetened condensed milk! That's all!

Do this: Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter and flour two 9 x 9 pans and set aside.
In food processor, combine flour, sugar and salt (pulse once). Cut 2 sticks of butter into small cubes and add to flour ingredients. Pulse until crumbly dough starts forming; press into two pans. Bake shortbread for about 20 minutes, let cool completely.
In a saucepan, combine 2 cans sweetened condensed milk and 2 T butter. Once boiling, stir continuously (THIS IS IMPORTANT, don’t stop or it will burn!!) for about 15 minutes. Your arm may become weak and tired. Keep going. Pour onto cooled shortbread and let cool completely to room temperature.

Melting chocolate and heating SCmilk.

Melt chocolate in glass bowl over simmering water. Pour melted chocolate over cooled shortbread and caramel. Let cool completely (I put the dishes in the freezer and then went shopping). Cut and enjoy!

Lame picture, I know. I was so tired by this point!

*Claire’s recipe makes 2 dozen if you cut large bars. I think these are extremely rich so I like just a little bite, so I have no idea how many mine made. I cut them into about 1/2 inch squares. Cut as you choose!

 

Leave a Reply

