Our Friend, Fiber.

Friends – I have two things to say.

1) I’m home on a Friday night because my stomach is going nuts. I wish you could hear all the sounds it is making. Quite noisy, this little guy. Really, I haven’t had any stomach issues since my surgery, almost a year ago. I don’t think I’ve talked much about that surgery on here, but let me tell you… My body was insane. The day I went to the hospital I thought I could be in labor. No, I wasn’t pregnant and I didn’t think I was, I just imagine that’s how bad those dang contractions hurt.

Anyway, my stomach was always screwy up until that surgery and then has been pretty solid ever since. Until tonight. Yuck. But nothing terrible, mostly just grumbly/noisy.

At least the Reds are on to keep me company.

2) I haven’t been giving many healthy tips to you. My apologies. Get ready to be flooded by some info about my friend, fiber. Maybe that’s the reason for my crazy stomach… But fiber is our friend! Har har.

FIBER [Info from Women’s Health Mag]

It’s the indigestible part of plants. You’ll find it in veggies, fruits, nuts, legumes, beans; added to yogurt, grains, soy and milks.

Women’s Health Magazine reports a study that shows women who increased their fiber intake from 12 to 24 grams a day absorbed 90 fewer calories than those that did not!

“High-fiber fare can help you stay out of the spike-and-crash cycle some high-carb foods can create.”

Recommended daily amount for women is 25g, but most of us are getting only 14.

Drink lots of water while getting your fill of fiber!

You can get too much – 50+ grams and you’re headed down the wrong path where the fiber starts absorbing vitamins and minerals.

Eating enough fiber has been linked to reducing diabetes, risk for breast and colon cancers and risk for colon disease.

[This information is not my own. Again, it is from the writers of Women’s Health Magazine.]

And finally. Try this recipe, ok? I don’t think it has much to do with fiber, but it’s fantastic. I can’t stop noshing on this stuff:

Pumpkin Granola Bars [Adapted from Two peas & their pod] (err … chewy – yet delicious – granola, in my case.)

  • 3 C Rolled oats
  • 1/4 C Flaxmeal
  • 1/2 t Salt
  • 1/2 t Cinnamon
  • 1/4 t Nutmeg
  • 1/2 t Pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/4 C Applesauce
  • 1/8 C Honey
  • 1/2 C Pumpkin puree
  • 1 t Vanilla
  • 1.5 t Chia Seeds
  • 1 C Chocolate chips*
Do this: Preheat oven to 350 and spray an 8 x 8 pan; set aside. In large bowl, mix oats, flax, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg and pumpkin pie spice. In small bowl, mix applesauce, honey, puree, vanilla and chia seeds. Stir until well combined and then mix well with dry ingredients. Add chocolate chips*. Press into prepared pan and bake 30-35 min.
*I used some chocolatey date pieces. These were the outcome of a messed up attempt at Fudge Babies by Katie. Mine didn’t stick together so I have a bag of delicious crumbles! They worked great in place of the chocolate chips, and add more nutrients to the bars! Perfect!

I ate it this morning with yogurt, strawberries, banana, and blubs. Delish, indeed.

20110831-092840.jpg

Leave a Reply

