chocolate chip cookies.

For some reason, today makes me think of Christmas time. Maybe it’s the gloomy sky outside that often comes with the winter snow… Maybe it’s the warmth of inside in contrast to the outside, with cookies baking in the oven. And maybe it’s because I’m looking for a new Christmas cookie recipe… At any rate, it feels like Christmas time, and I’m okay with that.

I am a lover of Christmas and chocolate chip cookies. I tried a new recipe this morning, and it was pretty darn good, but still not the best I’ve ever had. The best recipes I have found (in my opinion) are those ones that call for pudding mix. While I love those cookies, I think having to add pudding mix is just a bit inconvenient. I want a cookie I can make at almost any time – and I rarely have pudding mix on hand (except, in reality, I now often have it on hand incase I want to make those cookies…). Therefore, I am again on the search for “the best chocolate chip cookie recipe.” So many claim theirs is the best. Here is the one I made today, which I quite liked:

Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 2 C flour (+ 2 T if the dough isn’t firm enough)
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/2 t baking powder
  • 3/4 C butter (1.5 sticks)
  • 1/2 C sugar
  • 1 C brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 T vanilla (I know! One whole tablespoon! Mmm)
  • 2 C chocolate chips
Do this: Preheat oven to 325. Sift together (I actually sifted for once) flour, salt and baking powder and set aside. Melt butter and let cool slightly. Combine butter and sugars and add egg, yolk and vanilla. Mix well. Add dry ingredients. Mix in chocolate chips by hands. Line baking sheets with parchment paper and place dough on sheet. The dough does expand, so leave a lot of room. Bake for about 12-15 minutes.
*I did put the dough in the freezer for about 5 minutes before forming into balls because I like to work with firm dough, thus having to cook it for about 15 minutes.
3 thoughts on “chocolate chip cookies.

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Chip Cookie Roundup! | makinghealthahabit

Leave a Reply

