sick day[s].

Sunday night I woke up with that wonderful feeling in my belly and in my throat, begging me to make friends with the toilet. I spent the rest of the night hugging the toilet, laying outside the bathroom on the floor, and/or tossing and turning in my bed wishing I was asleep (while watching Dexter, of course). I didn’t go to work Monday and just tried to rest while I enjoyed a diet of gatorade and saltine crackers. Mmm. Would you like me to post a recipe?

Today (Tuesday) I went into work for about 2 hours and then brought some stuff home to do.  While doing various things, I have watched numerous episodes of The Millionaire Matchmaker and now Julia Child & Company. Let’s be honest, Julia, you saying to-mAH-toes over and over is getting on my nerves. I know the saying – tomato, tomAtoe – but I’m getting tired of you and the way you say it. But respect, you’re Julia Child.

It’s almost time for a nap.

There are two things I miss when sick:

1. Running

2. Baking

Blerg. Come on body, get better!

So, while I can’t do either of those thing I figured it’d be a good time to look up some info on some foods I keep running into that I’ve wanted to know more about:

Chia Seeds

  • Why to add them to your diet: good source of omega-3s and antioxidants; also fiber, calcium, phosphorus, magnesium, manganese, copper, iron, molybdenum, niacin, and zinc.
  • How to add them to your diet: my favorite way to eat chia seeds is to add them to my oatmeal; they’re also good in yogurt, baked goods and in cereal

Coconut Oil

  • Why to add it to your diet: source of lauric, caprylic and capric acids – these metabolize quickly for energy rather than being stored as fat!
  • How to add it to your diet: replace butter or oil for this delish tropical substitute!

Dates

  • Why to add them to your diet: great source of energy and fiber! Also good source of iron, potassium, calcium, manganese, magnesium, copper, and A and B vitamins
  • How to add them to your diet: eat them straight up, make Katie’s Fudge Babies

 

 

Leave a Reply

