20 miles and banana muffins

A year ago today, I ran my first (and only so far) full marathon. It was glorious. Really. You hear all these horrible stories about running marathons, but mine couldn’t have been better.

I couldn’t run a full today but my friend who I ran with last year ran one! Go Jess, go!

courtesy of Tiff Todd on facebook šŸ™‚

I love her. And I wish I could have been there running with her.

But I couldn’t. So I started out this morning at the same time as the marathon and ran 20 miles. I just kept going, and figured at most I had done 15. Then, I looked at my good ole Nike+ app when I finally finished and saw I had run 20 miles in 3 hours, with average speed of 9:24/mile.

Shoot dang.

After some food and a shower, I studied with my friend Michelle, who ran her first 11 miles yesterday! Get it girl!

And then, despite all I needed to do, I made these:

Make these:

Banana Nut Muffins [my recipe]

  • 3 ripe bananas
  • 1/2 C applesauce
  • 1/4 C water
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 3 egg whites
  • 1 1/4 C whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 C oats
  • 1/4 C flaxmeal
  • 1/2 t cinnamon
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 1/4 t baking powder
  • dash salt
  • 1/4 C chopped nuts
Do this: preheat oven to 350. Smash up those nanners:
Add egg whites, vanilla, water, and applesauce.
In a separate bowl, mix flour, oats, baking soda, baking powder, flax, salt, and cinnamon. Mix well.
Add wet ingredients to dry and mix well.
Add nuts and then scoop into lined or sprayed muffin tins.
Bake for 15 minutes.
Eat and enjoy (no really, they’re tasty and guilt-free!).
Nutrition Info (for 18 muffins)
75 Calories
1.8g Total fat
2.7g Protein
Leave a Reply

