all-around

I have a little bit of goodness for your all-around health! I have been thinking a lot about how I take care of myself and have realized that I don’t do such a good job. I work out and try to eat healthy but really haven’t found a good balance of either of those things. I also think my spiritual health is even more important than those other two areas and I have been slacking in that area too.

So, 2012 is coming up – the new year — a time for resolutions.

I’m starting early.

I’m weighing myself today (I haven’t done that in months).

I signed up for a nutrition assessment (I realized my eating habits need to change).

I’m spending more time with God (more memorization of scripture).

Be more thankful (write down one thing, each day.)

source

Why wait until Jan 1 to start working on new habits? Start now!

If you need some ideas for motivation, here are some of my recent favorites in all areas:

Healthy Recipe: Protein Post-Workout Hot Chocolate 

  • 1/2 C almond milk
  • 3/4 C water
  • 1/2 scoop protein powder (I use vanilla, but I’m sure chocolate would be fine)
  • 1 pack sugar-free/diet/regular hot chocolate mix
  • 2 t Peppermint Mocha creamer (or a small splash peppermint extract)

Heat well and enjoy! Seriously, it’s so delicious! In the mornings I add a instant-coffee (like Starbuck’s Via) pack.

Quickie Workout: Tabata & Planks

  • 6 min elliptical warm-up (incline 11, resistance 9)
  • 4 min elliptical Tabata (20 sec all-out, 10 sec rest; repeat x 7)
  • 6 min elliptical @ regular pace
  • 4 min elliptical Tabata
  • 5 min cool-down
  • This plank routine (1-3 times!)

Take a Moment: Jesus Calling, Sarah Young (this is the entry from Dec 8… it was really influential for me)

Your needs and My riches are a perfect fit. I never meant for you to be self-sufficient. Instead, I designed you to need Me not only for daily bread but also for fulfillment of deep yearnings. I carefully crafted your longings and feelings of incompleteness, to point you to Me. Therefore, do not try to bury or deny these feelings. Beware also of trying to pacify these longings with lesser gods: people, possessions, power.

Come to Me in all your neediness, with defenses down and with desire to be blessed. As you spend time in My Presence, your deepest longings are fulfilled. Rejoice in your neediness, which enables you to find intimate completion in Me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

