hope.

I’m not sure where to even begin this post… There are lots of things to say.

This morning as I was getting ready I began praying for a lot of my friends and family. Eventually, I kept finding myself asking God to “give them hope and peace” in whatever situation it was I was praying for. Finally, I thought, “man this is one messed up world.” We all know that. I don’t have to tell you that.

source

We are a fallen humanity. From our earliest existence (Adam and Ms Eve) we have wanted what was not meant for us and it has caused us to seek those things that are sinful, hurtful and just not meant for us. God created us to live in this world with that very hope and peace that we seem to lack. But, in our humanity, we have lost it because we have searched for it in so many other things besides God.

I know I have.

Yesterday, I was reading Ephesians 2 over and over. About the 3rd time, I was struck with the first few verses:

“You were dead in your transgressions and sins… All of us lived among them at one time, gratifying the cravings of our sinful nature and following its desires and thoughts. Like the rest, we were by nature objects of wrath. But because of his great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, made us alive with Christ even when we were dead… For we are God’s workmanship, created in Chirst Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.”

  • Yes, I was at once dead in my sin. My sin was giving me no life whatsoever. None. Pursuing things that are not from God in order to find hope or peace is a useless chase. Notice, Paul says it leads to death. What about death of the flesh is hopeful?
  • Because of my life lived to gratify the cravings of my sinful nature, I became an object of wrath.
  • BUT! Here’s what hit me – my sinful nature. I literally cried at this point where God revealed to me that he’s not mad at me because of my pursuit of these cravings. He knows I am a fallen creature. He’s not angry. He gets it. That doesn’t mean he wants me to keep living that way! No – he knows I seemingly have no choice to live by this sinful nature, so He sent Christ.
  • He makes me ALIVE when I choose to pursue Christ over those pesky cravings of my sinful nature.
  • I am his workmanship. His m-a-s-t-e-r-p-i-e-c-e. Stop criticizing every little thing about yourself. Stop beating yourself. Whether or not you see it, you are a masterpiece!
  • Just dwell on the above for a second…

Anyway. I know what it’s like to feel hopeless. But there is hope. Whatever you are dealing with, wherever you are.

Jesus Calling, by Sarah Young, Dec 15:

… The hope of heaven is meant to strengthen and encourage you, filling you with wondrous Joy. Many Christians have misunderstood this word hope, believing that it denotes wishful thinking. Nothing could be farther from the truth! As soon as I became your Savior, heaven became your ultimate destination. The phrase hope of heaven highlights the benefits you can enjoy even while remaining on earth. This hope keeps you spiritually alive during dark times of adversity; it brightens your path and heightens your awareness of My Presence. My desire is that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.

Leave a Reply

