the dangers of being “skinny fat”

Have you heard the term “skinny fat” lately? It seems to be somewhat of a buzzword.

I’ve heard it, and I’ve checked it out. Basically it’s a term for girls that look good in clothes but their percent body fat is higher than it should be.

I think I fit the bill.

I’m not saying I’m fat. That’s the thing about skinny-fat. You look pretty good (clothed). Skinny fat people tend to carry fat around their midsection. That’s me!

Shape Magazine has this to say about “skinny fatties”:

“In a new study published in the Journal of the American College of Cardiology, researchers found that among more than 15,000 patients, for those with a “normal, healthy” body mass index (or BMI) who carried excess belly fat, the risk of dying was as great as smoking a pack of cigarettes a day or having very high cholesterol. But those with BMIs in the “overweight” or “obese” category weren’t automatically at risk. In reality where you carry your weight and your day-to-day lifestyle are the true keys to optimal wellness.”

And midsection fat is the worst for your health compared to fat in any other area of your body.

“It might be the most dangerous kind of fat and could increase a person’s risk of diabetes, heart disease, stroke and some types of cancer.” (USAtoday.com)

The fat found in the midsection is visceral fat – fat that is linked to high blood pressure, high cholesterol, high triglycerides, and high insulin! Yikes! None of those should be high.

Exercise physiologist from Queen’s University in Ontario says, “While it remains to be determined the exact cause that links visceral fat with health risk,” Ross says, “what is absolutely clear is that this is a relatively little depot of fat that conveys a very big health risk.”

So do something about it.

My plan is to stop eating so much processed crap, less sugar, and cut-down on carbs. I’m loading up on veggies and focusing a bit more on strength training. In the next couple posts I have an awesome recipe for you and an awesome bootcamp workout.

I consider myself a pretty healthy eater… But my sweet tooth has become uncontrollable and I’m making a change. That scares me to say because I know it’s really tough for me. Maybe saying it on here will give me some motivation to follow through? Actually, the risk of that belly fat is motivation enough!

post-workout grocery trip

One thought on “the dangers of being “skinny fat”

Leave a Reply

