Let’s talk about poop.

Okay… Not really… But sort of.

Digestion seems to be an issue for two kinds of people: women and athletes. I’m not saying this is for everyone, but the more women I talk to the more I realize they all have issues with digestion. The more athletes I talk to, the more I realize I’m not the only one who’s had issues during a long run out in the middle of nowhere…

I spent some months in Africa a couple years ago and really didn’t “use the bathroom” for the first month… I don’t remember how far into the trip we were when it finally happened… During a run. In the middle of nowhere… It was quite humorous. TMI?

Active.com has some great tips for digestion for athletes.

Here’s what I gathered:

  1. Eat the most @ lunch. Dinner should be smaller so that your body is not working to digest a whole lot food while you are trying to sleep.
  2. Your stomach is about the size of your two hands cupped together. Don’t eat much more than this.
  3. Fruits should be eaten an hour before or after a meal, not with a meal. Fruits ferment during the digestion process and can interfere with the digestion of other foods.
  4. Fruit should not be eaten with dairy… Hmm, I do this often… They say the acidity in the fruit can rot the milk. Eek.
  5. Limit meals to no more than 3 different foods.
  6. Drink 1/2 C warm water before a meal to get your digestive juices flowin’.
  7. Don’t drink during a meal, especially cold water.
  8. Eat mindfully. Think about each bite or drink – this is the one I need to work on most.
Leave a Reply

