Soft Pretzel Bites

I love soft pretzels. I love hard pretzels. I especially love chocolate covered pretzels.

these really could be one of my favorite things I've ever made!

The other day I was trying to find something new and tasty to make for a Superbowl party.

I found this recipe for pretzel bites on Haiela’s and followed it exactly – something I rarely do! The only thing I did try differently was adding some cinnamon/sugar instead of salt on some of the pretzels… Really, I didn’t add much so I couldn’t even really taste it.

But boy-oh-boy these are dang good. They are a bit involved. I don’t like involved. But I didn’t mind these. The part where they are most involved is when you have to drop them into boiling water. Blerg. Actually, this ended up being my favorite part. Wouldntyaknow.

Pretzel Bites

  • 1.5 C warm water
  • 1 packet yeast
  • 1 T honey
  • 4.5 C flour
  • 1 T salt (I know, yikes. Oh well – give it a try)
  • 6 T melted butter
  • 5 C water
  • 1/3 C baking soda
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 T water
  • salt

Do this: in mixing bowl, empty yeast and warm water; add honey and stir. Let sit for around 5 minutes. While waiting combine flour and salt and melt the butter. Add flour, salt and butter to yeast mixture and with dough hook, mix for about 5 minutes until soft ball forms. Place in an oiled bowl for about an hour, covered with plastic [and read the last book of The Hunger Games series while waiting].

When dough has set for an hour, begin to bring the 5 cups of water to a boil. While waiting for water to boil, remove dough from bowl and pull apart small pieces to make little balls (mine were about the size of a large gum ball… that’s the best comparison I can think of…). Once water is boiling, add baking soda. Begin to drop about 6-8 dough balls in water; let “cook” for 30 seconds and then remove with slotted spoon and place onto baking sheet. Once all have been “cooked” in the water, cut a small slit with kitchen shears in each and then brush with egg yolk/water mixture; sprinkle with salt and place on a parchment-lined baking sheet.

Bake for about 10 minutes, or lightly golden on top. Remove from oven and slide parchment onto baking sheet (it’s tough but I have faith you can do it. I only lost a couple along the way. By lost I mean used the 5 second rule to taste-test them myself) and let cool.

Try not to eat the all before the party.

I’m not kidding.

One thought on “Soft Pretzel Bites

Leave a Reply

