Treadmill Marathon Training

It’s no secret I don’t like the TM. I don’t mind doing interval training on the TM but to spend hours just running one speed on the dang thing has absolutely no appeal. I know a number of marathon runners who feel opposite of me – they rather run on the TM than run outside while training. Silly people.

Today, however, I just felt I had no choice but to do my long run on the ole ‘mill. I needed to do a lot and was really, really dreading it. I stayed in bed longer than planned just to avoid going.

Finally, I talked myself into it and went. I did think at one point, “I’m doing this either way, so I may as well have a good attitude about it.” Story of my life sometimes! So, I packed my bag with an extra shirt, an extra towel, headphones, and some almond/raisin mix plus some gatorade.

Here goes nothing.

On an unrelated (soon to be related) note, do you ever watch Late Night With Jimmy Fallon? Well, you should if you don’t. He’s probably one of my favorite people. Ever. Forever, ever. He does a bit about once a week appropriately titled, “Pros and Cons.”

Here’s area a couple of examples:

It wasn’t all that bad. While spending the 2.5 hours doing 18 miles, I came up with the pros and cons of TM training.

Pro: It’s easier to drink more fluids while on the TM.

Con: You have to go to the bathroom more often.

Pro: Bathrooms are definately more readily available when running on the TM.

Con: The bathroom starts to become an appealing excuse to get off the TM.

Pro: You can change your shirt mid-run.

Con: Because you’re inside, you need another shirt because you sweat so much.

Pro: You sweat a lot more, so you’re clearing your body of toxins.

Con: Again, because you’re inside, you need another shirt because you sweat so much.

Pro: You can watch movies you’ve never seen like “I Love You Beth Cooper.”

Con: You’re almost forced to watch movies you’ve never wanted to see like “I Love You Beth Cooper.”

Pro: You’re a lot more safe than when running on the road. My mom would be happy.

Con: You’re on a dang treadmill! Looking at the same scenes for hours and hours… and hours…

Pro: You can easily track how many miles you’ve gone (unlike with my Nike+ where I won’t look at it until I’m finished).

Con: You can easily see how little you’ve run; when it has been only 2 miles but feels like 10.

Pro: Everyone can see you on the TM for hours, and surely be impressed.

Con: Everyone can see you on the TM for hours, and surely think you’re ridiculous (and did I mention sweaty?).

Pro: You can see the same David Beckham H&M commercial multiple times.

Con:

Pro: Your body keeps a pretty consistent temperature (unlike outside where there are periods where I am really hot, then cold).

Con: Your body keeps a pretty consistent sweaty/warm temperature!

2 thoughts on “Treadmill Marathon Training

  1. Pingback: Training on a Treadmill « makinghealthahabit

  2. Pingback: Friday Favorites « makinghealthahabit

Leave a Reply

