Blessed Assurance from Beautiful Grace

An old hymn really hit me hard this morning. As I was listening to my Shane and Shane playlist, “Blessed Assurance” came on and I listened intently to the words that I had heard time and time before:

Blessed assurance, Jesus is mine!
O what a foretaste of glory divine!
Heir of salvation, purchase of God,
Born of His Spirit, washed in His blood.

This is my story, this is my song,
Praising my Savior, all the day long;
This is my story, this is my song,
Praising my Savior, all the day long.

Perfect submission, perfect delight,
Visions of rapture now burst on my sight;
Angels descending bring from above
Echoes of mercy, whispers of love.

Perfect submission, all is at rest
I in my Savior am happy and blest,
Watching and waiting, looking above,
Filled with His goodness, lost in His love.

The song was written in 1873. It’s 2012. The words still remain convicting.

This is my story, this is my song” – the blessed assurance of Christ. Am I living that out? Is Christ really my whole story? Does His assurance really give me rest and happiness?

Perfect submission, perfect delight“- Am I submitting my life to Him in order to please him and gain rest? Is my delight really in Him?

(source)

And then this Shane and Shane song came on, reminding me of how his “Grace is Sufficient:”

What are you gonna say to God
When all you do is pray to God
For them to know His name
And all you hear Him say is:

My grace, My grace
My grace is sufficient
My grace is sufficient

My grace, My grace
My grace is sufficient
My grace is sufficient

It’s all you need

What are you gonna say to God
When everything you prayed to God
Came your way but you forgot to thank Him?
And all you hear Him say is
My grace

Even though my life should be a story of God being my assurance and rest, it can only come through his grace. All I need to hear God say is “My grace is sufficient.”

(source)

His grace is sufficient for every failure, every victory, every trial, every doubt or fear, every joy, every blessing. Each time I feel my story is one other than blessed assurance in Christ, I can find rest in His al-sufficient grace.

 

Live today full of assurance of his perfect Grace. Make that your story.

Leave a Reply

