Marathon Training: Rest days

This morning I woke up and made one dang delicious breakfast of cinnamon french toast with strawberries:

Cinnamon French Toast for One

  • 2 pieces of bread (I used Aunt Millie’s 35 cal)
  • 1 egg white
  • splash almond milk
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • cooking spray

Heat skillet to medium heat and cook on both sides until brown. Top with strawberries and your choice of syrup (I used low-calorie cinnamon – mmm!).

Following this breakfast I read up on some scripture, drank some coffee with a mud mask on my face, and then did some fantastic spring cleaning! It feels so nice to have everything so clean!

Tomorrow is my first race since the tough mudder and my first half marathon since the Indianapolis one I did in October where I PR’d. It’s just a local race put on by the Ohio River Road Runners Club (ORRRC). It’ll be an interesting one since it’s local and probably pretty small.

So, two things:

1. Use other races to train for your marathon. When you use races to train you are training in the atmosphere that is most-like the atmosphere you will be in on race day. When you are training regularly there’s nothing like actually getting in a race, surrounded by people, aid stations handy and being timed. It’s great practice for the real deal – plus it’s fun!

2. Rest. I am so bad at resting – I tend to feel guilty if I skip more than one day a week. I know this is a bad way to look at things. It really is. It is so important, however. I did TRX again two days ago for the first time in probably a month and my whole body was sore. I needed some time off to let my muscles rest before trying to push out a great run on Sunday. Taking the time off gives your body the chance to repair and also prepare.

Read up on the importance of rest for runners and athletes, here:

source

Rest up, friends!

5 thoughts on “Marathon Training: Rest days

  1. Sounds like a great meal! You might even want to try using Ezekiel bread. There are so many nutritional benefits in one slice! Rest days are so difficult, especially for us triple A personalities. As I am sure you know, when you push your body as hard as you seem to be doing, you need to let your body properly recover; rest day, good nutrition and sleep! I write exercise advice and motivational tips on my blog if you are interested. Keep up the awesome work and great posts!

  2. Pingback: Marathon training: another race, another metaphor « makinghealthahabit

  3. Pingback: marathon training: lessons learned « makinghealthahabit

Leave a Reply

