this bread is bananas

Personally, I love a good piece of banana bread. I can’t decide whether I like it better than pumpkin bread or banana chocolate chip oatmeal cookies, but I know I love it.

I found this “good for you banana bread” recipe Curly J. It’s one of my favorites so far. 2 out of 2 friends who tried it last night agreed that it is bananas. Success!

While I was preparing this delicious treat, I was thinking about the various men I know who have requested banana bread in my life. There just seems to be so many. So, I took a facebook pole and 17 out of 19 males agree, it’s the bomb. Zero (or as one of the kids I work with says, “zerzo”) people agree that I should bring back the saying “the bomb.”

So, make 17 of your male friends happy and make them some banana bread!

Banana Bread [adapted from CurlyEats]

  • 1/3 C granulated sugar
  • 1/4 C brown sugar
  • 1/4 C coconut oil (melted)
  • 1/4 C applesauce
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 t lemon juice
  • 1 t vanilla extract
  • 1 C all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 C whole wheat flour
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 1 t baking powder
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/8 t cloves, ground
  • 1/4 t nutmeg
  • 1/2 C yogurt (I used 1 Oikos Greek plain)
  • 2 mashed bananas

Do this: preheat oven to 325. Combine sugars, applesauce and melted coconut oil. Add eggs, vanilla and lemon juice and stir well. Combine dry ingredients and add to sugar/oil mixture. Stir well, until combined and fold in yogurt and bananas. Bake for ~ 1 hour in greased bread pan.

Leave a Reply

