marathon training: lessons learned

2nd marathon (Kentucky Derby Festival Marathon) – done and done!

I finished my 2nd marathon this past saturday and it, like my first, was a success (in my book)! This time I was nervous, but not like I was for my first. I was most nervous about it not being as great as my first experience – my first (and only until now) went much smoother than I had expected.

Again, I wasn’t running for a time but simply to finish. And finish I did.

I finished in 4:21 and my previous marathon time was 4:53. That’s a good 1/2 hour difference. I wasn’t trying for time @ either of these but obviously I have gotten faster throughout the past 1.5 years of training for time for half-marathons.

While I am no expert on running (by any means), you can see some of my chronicled training in these posts:

Now, something else you can do is look at these pictures from my run:

two goofs who like to run (it was their first time!)

 

the team minus 1

 

post-race

 

The first picture is the result of learning lesson #1. Here’s the list of some things I learned this go-round:

1. Remember your defensive running rule, in a new light. People may push or elbow you in the first mile to get ahead and then you will have to use discarded clothing to sop up blood until you reach a first aid tent miles away.

2. It’s okay not to run the week before. I read a lot of things about how much to run the week before, and I basically just didn’t run and I ended up doing fine.

3. You don’t need coffee to fuel you (it’s delish and normally I drink it, but not this time!).

4. Gels are good. I don’t train with them and I don’t really like them but I used them during the race (not recommended to try something new during race time) and I think they gave me added energy.

5. Nike Free+ shoes are great but around mile 21 your feet will wish you had a bit more padding in your kicks.

6. There’s nothing better than having friends around pre and post race, whether or not you stick with them the whole run.

7. High-fiving every kid on the side reaching for one makes you find little bits of joy in the pain.

8. You’re doing it, no matter how slow you go, so be proud.

9. Thank the police who are blocking cars from hitting you; practice gratitude, again even in the pain.

10. Eat lots of pizza the night after you run. It never tastes better.

 

 

4 thoughts on “marathon training: lessons learned

  1. Pingback: Minimum Effective Marathon Training: or how to complete a marathon with the least amount of effort (part #2) | FitChutney

Leave a Reply

