gain some weight

I’m not talking about fat people, but you may gain weight by building your muscles. But you’ll look dang good!

Post-marathon, this month I am focusing much more on strength training/weight lifting than I normally do. I try to do at least 2 sessions per week regularly (usually one upper body focus, one lower body) but I am upping it to at least 3 sessions for at least 20 minutes.

I saw a personal trainer for about 6 months and it was helpful, but honestly I didn’t see much change. I did, however, learn a lot of good strength training exercises. For those of you who are new to strength training, I’ve compiled a few resources below!

Hop to it!

The Fairly Hot Couple – Information on weight lifting for women

Runner’s World – Build a Better Body

Lose Stubborn Fat! – Weight Training and Cross Training for Runners: Myth vs. Fact

Livestrong – Weight Training Workouts for Distance Runners

Running Planet – Strength Training for Runners

One thought on “gain some weight

  1. Pingback: Friday Favorites! « makinghealthahabit

Leave a Reply

