September Self-Control

Lately, I have been overwhelmed with my lack of self-control; with eating, with being lazy, with all kinds of things.

But, continually I have been reminded of this verse:

“For God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control.” (2 Timothy 1:7)

As a child of God, I was given the spirit of self-control. I have it, not it’s time to utilize it!

It has been a good reminder as I got to grab that 3rd cookie… I am going to really try this month to utilize and build my self control. Like with many things, the harder you work at something the stronger you become.

“But I discipline my body and keep it under control, lest after preaching to others I myself should be disqualified.” (1 Corinthians 9:27)

“A man without self-control is like a city broken into and left without walls.” (Proverbs 25:28)

The Secret of Self-Control: The New Yorker

All About Self-Control: Psychology Today

Software for your Computer: Steve Lambert

Leave a Reply

