Weight Lifting: Pyramids and Tabata

In this semi-off season of running for me, I am trying to focus more on strength training, quick cardio, and taking some new classes at the gym! Last week, for example I took a “hardcore and sprint” class which literally had my core screaming for about 5 days…

Recently, I have been trying new things with weight lifting, as it is one of my least favorite types of exercise. I know how important it is, but I just get kind of bored doing lots of reps or standing around resting… Here are the two methods I have used previously, that I’ve gone back to this week:

PYRAMID SETS

 

See this article on BodyBuilding.com to learn all about pyramid sets.

Pyramids are my favorite because you get to lift heavier weights but don’t get burnt out on doing 3 sets of 15. booorrriinnngggg.

I usually do a pyramid of 12-10-8-6-8-10-12 reps and change the weight from 2.5 lbs to 5lbs. You can go all the way down to 2 reps and change the weight up however much you want. For example, today I did a dead lift dumbbell pyramid that looked like this:

weight          repetition
15                      12
20                      10
25                       8
30                       6
25                       8
20                      10
15                       12

TABATA

I generally use tabata to do high intensity cardio, but it’s also really helpful for lifting. I like to do the standard 20 seconds work, 10 seconds rest for 8 sets for a total of 4 minutes. Generally, when I do tabata for strength training I will alternate working sets using weights and without weights. For example, today I did a tabata with squats; the odd sets I used dumbells and the evens I just did body weight squats.

source

What are your favorite weight lifting/strength training methods or workouts?

One thought on “Weight Lifting: Pyramids and Tabata

  1. Pingback: Tabata Time « onlyhalfcrazy

Leave a Reply

